Skip navigation

Happy Holidays All:

 

I have enjoyed the festive discussions on certification. Even when a little edgy, the passion and thoughts are certainly evident.

 

For my money it comes down to Cost VS Return.

 

Here in Dallas; I, for one, have only had one new customer voice any knowledge of the AIC in the past year that I have been asking and she remembered hearing something about it from Martha Stewart – there have been hundreds of new customers. In the Dallas/Fort Worth area, there are many conservators and a few “fix-it” shops. At Art Restorations, we do our best to educate our clientele as to why conservation may be a better option for their pieces. Frankly, those who are inclined to recognize the value of what they own and value the services we offer stick with us or other area AIC conservators. Those who don’t really care and just want something fixed generally take their work to our none AIC competitors down the street and around the city. 

 

I do not see the necessity of certification. Sorry to those of you who’s passions lay elsewhere, but from my perspective 99% of the population is indifferent. Other than with museums and government contract inquiries, my Professional Associate standing is inconsequential to the work I do here in Dallas. I don’t think being certified will enhance my community standing. I don’t think certification will “weed out” bad conservators or treatments. I think there will always be differing approaches and perspectives to treatments some will be less sucessful than others. Not every museum quality piece will end up in a museum. I know that certification will cost me both in time and money. Ultimately, I see the AIC making money from this deal, not me. 

 

There is a certified/lisenced mechanic down the street down the street and an un-certified/un-lisenced and probably illegal fix-it guy a couple of doors down – both are busy, both have happy clients. While I see my MD general practicioner for most things, I have been known to visit the un-lisenced homeopath for other issues.

 

If certification becomes a reality, I will probably check into it and maybe do it. Cost VS Return will more than likely be the overriding issue. To those of you for whom money is not an issue, good for you. If clients are asking, that may swing the pendulum for me. Until then, in it’s current form or any form, my vote is NO. 

 

On the other hand, I see the dropping the recommendation for submitting treatment reports with PA applications this coming January as a weakening of the PA system. It should be a requirement. Strengthening the PA has my vote.  

 

Happy Holidays,

Betsy Manship

Senior Conservator

Leave a comment